All Posts, Christian Living, Inspiration

Are you Prepared?

A couple weeks ago I had an experience that made me ponder the question: Am I prepared? Stephanie and I decided to take a long walk to get some ice cream. We walked the first 4.8 miles to Cold Stone Creamery and enjoyed our ice cream. We then began the trek back home. Now, this walk was not planned and Stephanie and I were both wearing sandals that were not made for walking. So we stopped in a park to rest our blistered feet. Once our feet felt rested enough to begin walking again, we headed on our journey home. About ten minutes later, I began to feel, “Itchy” all over my body. I remember thinking, “How did I get so much grass on me?” We continued to walk and then I started to have a heartburn sensation in my chest. I remember thinking, “Boy, that ice cream sure didn’t settle well.” So now I am itching all over and I have heartburn and we are still about two miles from home. So we pressed on. Once we got about one mile away from home the pain in my chest increased, my breathing started to feel constricted, and I was starting to have tunnel vision and felt like passing out. So I sat down on a curb and Stephanie began seeking help.

This was one of the scariest moments of my life. I knew something was seriously wrong, and I knew that I needed immediate medical attention. Now fast forward a few hours and I was told I suffered an allergic reaction to something. After receiving some fluids and medicine, it was as if nothing had happened. You see, in life anything can happen at any time. You can be walking down the street and drop dead of an aneurysm, you can get into a fatal vehicle collision, a tidal wave could suck you out to sea, 2012 could come to fruition, or you can suffer an allergic reaction to something that ends your life suddenly. Just as the TV show 1,000 Ways to Die suggests, there are a myriad of crazy unthinkable ways we can leave this earth at any time. James 3:14 says, “Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away.”

So I ask: Are you prepared? Now many of us may say, “No, I’m not ready to die.” I would agree with you. I am not ready either, but I ask: Are you prepared? Do you know where you will go if you were to die right now? Some would say, “Yes, I’m a good person,” or “Yes, I give to charity,” or “Yes, I go to Church.” These are all good things, but they are not enough. You see there is a gap that prevents us from getting to Heaven. We can try to build our own bridge to span the gap, but we will never be able to complete it. We may get close, but the Bible says we will never be able to span that gap on our own. The reason we cannot do it on our own is because we are all sinners and because of that sin we all “fall short of the glory of God” (Romans 3:23). Jesus said in John 14:6, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.” The Bible also tells us that the punishment for sin is death (Romans 6:23). So what does that mean? It means because we are sinners, we cannot make it to Heaven on our own accord. There is nothing we can do to earn our salvation.

So what now? Can we be saved? Can we truly be prepared? The answer is a resounding YES! God loves every one of us so much that He made a way for us to be saved. Even though we are sinners and evil and unworthy, God sent His one and only Son to this world to die for our sins because He loves us (John 3:16 & Romans 5:8). So how can we be saved?

First, you have to admit that you are a sinner.

Romans 3:23 “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” 

1 John 1:8 “If we say that we have no sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us.”

Believe in Jesus.

John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.”

Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Confess and leave your sin. Make Jesus the Savior and Leader of your life.

Romans 10:9-10 “that if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.”

Romans 10:13 “for whoever will call on the name of the LORD will be saved.”

1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Psalm 103:12 “As far as the East is from the West, so far has He removed our transgressions from us.”

The final step is a prayer asking God to come into your life and make you the person He wants you to be. Prayer is just talking to God. There is no right or wrong way to do it. God is not concerned about the words that you choose, he cares about the state of your heart. He hears you. You can pray a prayer something like this:

Jesus, I want to know you personally. I know that I am a sinner and that nothing I could do can make up for that. Thank you for dying in my place and paying the price for my sin. I know that my sin doesn’t separate me from God anymore. Thank you for forgiving me. I know that you love me and that I will spend eternity with you. I want you to be my Savior and the Leader of my life. Come into my life and take control, make me the person you want me to be.*

*Adapted from: http://powertochange.com/discover/faith/loveandgod/

My answer to the original question is, I may not be ready or want to leave this world now, but I am prepared. I know I have eternal life in Christ Jesus and I am secure in my salvation.  Are you prepared?

If you have prayed the above prayer and have made a commitment to follow Christ, then the next steps are to start reading the Bible, find a Church, and tell someone about your new relationship with Jesus Christ. You can also let Stephanie and I know, so we can answer any questions you may have and also pray for you. You can also follow the links below for more information:

http://www.klove.com/promodetails.aspx?i=6417

http://www.needhim.com/1/1-12.shtml

http://lifewaychurchaz.com/

Key Verses:

Romans 3:23 “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”

Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.”

Psalm 103:12 “As far as the East is from the West, so far has He removed our transgressions from us.”

Romans 10:9-10 “that if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your  heart God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.”

Romans 10:13 “for whoever will call on the name of the LORD will be saved.”

About Aaron Coon

Christian, Writer, Speaker, Curious Observer. Married to my beautiful Stephanie & we attend @LifewayAZ. We love the Lord and want to serve Him and His people!

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A Message from Our Shepard | A Father's Love - October 20, 2011

JOIN IN THE CONVERSATION:

To Receive Updates on my Upcoming Project Sign Up Here!

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

