All Posts, Christian Living, Inspiration

Overcoming Fear

Breaking Free
Breaking Free: Image by Focx Photography via Flicker

What is fear? Fear is not knowing. Fear is giving up when the road gets rough. Fear is not trying. Fear is avoiding risks. Fear is failure. Fear is taking the easy way out. Fear is weak. Fear is not speaking the truth. Fear is chickening out. Fear is not going beyond the status quo. Fear is the status quo. Fear is weakness. Fear is crippling. Fear is numbing. Fear is confining. Fear gets in the way.

There are many adjectives to describe fear. Fear is like prisons walls that shackle you and keep you from experiencing freedom. Life is full of obstacles and roadblocks, and fear is what keeps us from overcoming those obstacles and roadblocks. Psychologists describe the human response to a threat or fear as “fight or flight.” This idea simply states that when faced with an adverse situation we will either fight our way through the situation or we will run away. A fearful person will avoid conflict at all costs. The fear of failure, rejection, embarrassment, or even harm will cause one to run away and hide. In life our greatest enemy is our own fear. Franklin D. Roosevelt put it quite eloquently, “The only thing we have to fear, is fear itself.”

Today you no longer have to live in fear! The Lord is our light and salvation. When the Lord is on our side we can be fearless! When the Lord is on our side we cannot be defeated!

This is why I have chosen Psalm 27 to be the theme of my blog. “The Lord is my light and my salvation. Whom shall I fear?” Reminds me daily that I do not have to live in fear. The light of the Lord has broken the shackles of fear that bind me and I may now live in freedom. No evil force physical or supernatural can defeat me, because Jesus Christ is the Savior and Leader of my life!

Fear can sneak up on us when we are least suspecting. We must rely on the Lord’s strength to overcome fear. We must stop running away from the battle and face fear head on. We must stand up to our enemy and defeat him. We must know that when the Lord is on our side, fear has already been defeated. We must be fearless!

“The eternal God is your refuge,
and underneath are the everlasting arms.
He will drive out your enemies before you,
saying, ‘Destroy them!’” (Deuteronomy 33:27)

Key Verses:From NIV

Psalm 27:1-4

1The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

2 When the wicked advance against me
to devour me,
it is my enemies and my foes
who will stumble and fall.

3 Though an army besiege me,
my heart will not fear;
though war break out against me,
even then I will be confident.

4 One thing I ask from the Lord,
this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the Lord
and to seek him in his temple.


About Aaron Coon

Christian, Writer, Speaker, Curious Observer. Married to my beautiful Stephanie & we attend @LifewayAZ. We love the Lord and want to serve Him and His people!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Overcoming Fear

  1. “The Lord challenges us to suffer persecutions and to confess him. He wants those who belong to him to be brave and fearless. He himself shows how weakness of the flesh is overcome by courage of the Spirit. This is the testimony of the apostles and in particular of the representative administrating Spirit. A Christian is fearless.” –quote from Tertullian

    Remember we as Christ followers are to be fearless!!

    Romans 8:31 What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, then who can be against us?

    Posted by lightandsalvation | October 16, 2011, 1:49 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Overcoming Spiritual Strongholds « Living Simply In Abundance - October 19, 2011

JOIN IN THE CONVERSATION:

To Receive Updates on my Upcoming Project Sign Up Here!

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

