All Posts, Christian Living, Inspiration

Going Forward

English: Fireworks over Copenhagen the night b...

January 1, 2012, will mark a new year. A new year with new resolutions, new commitments, new joys, and new celebrations. A new year will also bring new heartache, new troubles, and even carry over the old heartaches and troubles from last year. As the ball drops in Times Square and the final ten-seconds of 2011 are counted down, the new year will seem to most as a carryover of last year. It reminds me of the day before my birthday. The day before I am technically still a year younger, however, at midnight I am magically a year older. When you think about it, when you celebrate your birthday you are a day closer to being a year older. The same is true for New Year’s Day. There is not much of a difference between New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day except that on New Year’s Day you have to remember to sign your checks or other documents as 2012 instead of 2011. Some look forward to the new year as a fresh start, while others see it as a holdover from the last year.  So what baggage are you bringing into the new year?

It is true that New Year’s Day will not magically make your problems go away. You will still have bills to pay, fences to mend, and mountains to climb. However, New Year’s Day reminds me of how I should live continually as a Christian: by going forward. In Philippians 3:13-14, Paul writes, “13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (emphasis added) I believe Paul is saying he is continually moving forward toward the goal. Not looking back but straining ahead. Paul is not allowing his old baggage to hold him back and prevent him from obtaining his prize, which is spending eternity with Jesus Christ and knowing Him fully. Instead, Paul says he is staying focused and moving forward and never losing focus of what his goal is. This reminds me of the track and field events in the Olympics, in particular the hurdles. When the buzzer sounds or the starter pistol is fired each athlete runs forward. Their keen focus is the finish line. Each runner remains in his or her lane jumping over each hurdle and continues until they cross the finish line. Now imagine if one of the runners’ looks backwards to see what obstacles they had to leap over or what path they followed and who was behind them. With their head turned back for only a second or so, the runner will easily run off track and not know where the finish line is, the runner may even slam into the next hurdle without ever seeing it. The same is true in our lives, we must not let our baggage distract us from our goals. We must not keep looking back and living in regret and asking what if? Now, we still have to deal with our past problems, however, when we keep our focus on God and move forward, through the strength of Jesus Christ we can overcome those past obstacles and move forward (Philippians 4:13). As Christians we need to go forward, not dwelling on our past mistakes, or lost opportunities; instead we need to learn from our past, while keeping our eyes on Jesus. I am reminded of the old hymn, “I have decided to follow Jesus…. No turning back, no turning back.”

As we ring in the new year, what baggage do you need to let go of? What past obstacles do you need to take your eyes off of in order to look forward? Some of you who are reading this may be struggling with issues that were mentioned or with other issues that were not mentioned. Others may not be struggling at all right now. Wherever you are in your walk, I want to remind you of God’s promise in our lives, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11) No matter the obstacles we have faced or are going to face, God’s plan in our lives is for us to be prosperous. Always remember to move forward keeping your eye on Jesus!

Key Verses:

All from NIV

Philippians 3:14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

About Aaron Coon

Christian, Writer, Speaker, Curious Observer. Married to my beautiful Stephanie & we attend @LifewayAZ. We love the Lord and want to serve Him and His people!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Going Forward

  1. I loved it…. People need inspiriation from The Word that we must move forward, because I am :P..

    Posted by Clarra | December 29, 2011, 6:06 pm
    • Thanks Clarra,

      Moving on and looking forward is probably one of the toughest things we as Christians need to learn to do, especially if the the pain caused (both physical and emotional) leaves a permanent scar on our lives. This is something I have had to deal with for the past two years. An individual broke my wrist and I had to have surgery. The pain in my wrist and the limited range of motion reminds me almost daily of what that individual did to me. He has paid the price in our justice system and is still serving probation for what he did. This past year, the Holy Spirit convicted me and at one of my Church’s Men’s Prayer meetings I finally forgave this individual for what he did to me and I continue to pray for his salvation. I only mention this because it was something that was bringing me back, and causing me to get angry and lose focus on my walk with the Lord. By forgiving him and giving it all to God, I was able to re-focus on Jesus and it is only through the strength of Jesus Christ that I can move on (Philippians 4:13). My prayer this New Year is that other Christians who are struggling with these similar issues (both big and small) will be able to regain their focus on our Savior Jesus Christ and move forward. For those of you who have never accepted Jesus Christ as your personal savior, I would encourage you to read my devotional titled “Are you Prepared?”

      Happy New Year’s and God Bless!

      -Aaron

      Posted by lightandsalvation | December 30, 2011, 2:09 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Thank you for being part of my 2011 my friends & family, you’re all an inspiration in your own way ♥ the reason I keep coming back again and again. « *His Space too* - December 30, 2011

  2. Pingback: Goodbye 2011. Welcome 2012. | Ziddi Tamana - December 31, 2011

JOIN IN THE CONVERSATION:

To Receive Updates on my Upcoming Project Sign Up Here!

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

