All Posts, Christian Living, Inspiration, Missions

Beauty in the Midst of Ugly

Ecclesiastes 3:11a He has made everything beautiful in its time.

NELIDA YAZMIN

There is a song that has been playing on the radio recently called “Beautiful Things” by Gungor. The

chorus says, “You make beautiful things. You make beautiful things out of the dust. You make beautiful things. You make beautiful things out of us.” When you look at the world it can be easy to get discouraged. Everyday there are news articles about death, destruction, hate and evil. In fact there is always something that makes me say, “How can someone do that to another person?” We live in a fallen world that is marred by sin. Our society is constantly telling us what it thinks is beautiful. This is seen in advertisements and also how others are treated. If you are deemed beautiful in the eyes of the world, then you are treated differently, seemingly better. If we dwelled on these things it could be easy to get discouraged, depressed, and want to give up.

But in the midst of the pain, the destruction, the hate, and the evil we need to remember that when God created the world it was made without sin. When He created the world and the first man and woman, God saw that it was very good (Genesis 1:31)! Although sin has a made mess of our world, God is still making everything beautiful in His time and He is still in control (Ecc. 3:11a). We see stories of hope, inspiration, and good deeds. They may not make the headlines; in fact they either go underreported or unreported. Every once in a while a story like Captain “Sully” landing a jetliner safely in the Hudson river will make the headlines, but most of the time we don’t hear about these stories of inspiration and kindness.

A quick story:

If you were to visit Rocky Point, Mexico for the first time, your first impression would probably consist of dreariness, hopelessness, and depression. The city is filled with poverty and you see this in the eyes of the people. As you drive through the streets you see homelessness, drug users, and extreme poverty. Many people living in Rocky Point have given up hope and turn to alcohol and drug use to numb the pain and escape reality. However, in the middle of the darkness, in the middle of the hopelessness, there are families who have not fallen for what the world has said about Rocky Point.

Meet the Estrella family. Ruben and Yazmin live near one of the poorest areas of Rocky Point with their three young boys. Yet, they are happy. Ruben and Yazmin both work hard, earning what they can to support their children. They are active in the local Church and they are constantly giving to those less fortunate. They also spend time raising their boys and growing them up in the instructions of the Lord. Every time Stephanie and I go to visit, they always have a good attitude and they are constantly thanking God for the blessings they receive.

The Point:

One thing I want to tell you today is that God has not given up on this world and He has not given up on you!

 Although at times this world we live in may seem ugly, our God is making everything beautiful in its time. In the midst of the ugliness we still find stories of beauty, hope, and inspiration!

We can both give up and do nothing or we can take the Apostle Paul’s advice that he gave while locked up in prison:

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! (Philippians 4:4)

 

 Something to Think About:

 In light of the ugliness of this world, make a list of everything that is “beautiful” in your life. Go ahead and share your thoughts in the comment section below.

Together let’s show the world just how beautiful our God is making it!

About Aaron Coon

Christian, Writer, Speaker, Curious Observer. Married to my beautiful Stephanie & we attend @LifewayAZ. We love the Lord and want to serve Him and His people!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Beauty in the Midst of Ugly

  1. Here I’ll get the ball rolling. The #1 thing that is beautiful in my life is my wife Stephanie followed by my family and then my health.

    Stephanie is the number one blessing in my life. I never though that I would find anyone like her. I thought I would have to settle. But God showed me that he had the perfect person ready for me and all I needed to do was wait and trust in the Lord.

    My family is my next blessing. Sure we have our fair share of problems. But my parents were faithful in raising me up in the instruction in the Lord. Because of their faithfulness I am who I am today. I praise God everyday for my parents.

    Finally, my health is another blessing. 8 years ago I was hospitalized in the intensive care unit and told I would probably be medically separated from the Air Force after only being in for seven weeks. God not only fully restored me in record time, but I excelled in everything that I did. God continues to bless me with my health.

    I could go on and on and talk about my job, house, and my daily provisions being cared for. But the point is that in each area there is ugliness and instead of focusing on the bad, I have chosen to focus on the beautiful and the good that God has done and provided for me. This is an intentional process and one that is laid out in Philippians 4:8

    “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

    Now it’s your turn. Share what’s beautiful in your life in the comments section below. It doesn’t have to be long and you can make a list if you want. But let’s be intentional about focusing on the blessings that God has given us.

    Posted by lightandsalvation | June 16, 2012, 5:40 am
  2. Wonderful words of encouragement that are appropriately for a Father’s Day theme… & timeless.

    Posted by Janae's Fallgirl Shepherd | June 18, 2012, 10:41 pm

JOIN IN THE CONVERSATION:

To Receive Updates on my Upcoming Project Sign Up Here!

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

