Christian Living, Inspiration, Life's Roadblocks

Life’s Roadblocks Part 1: Busy-ness

This is a 4-part series about life’s roadblocks. This post will focus on the Busy-ness of Life.

1. Busy-ness

Have you ever asked yourself these questions: “Where did the year go?” “How did the kids grow so fast?” “How did I miss those moments?”

Still

Still (Photo credit: Herman Frantzen)

We tend to struggle through life, fulfilling our commitments and fulfilling our responsibilities, without ever stopping to smell the proverbial roses. Now don’t get me wrong, we need to be responsible and prioritize our life. But I think it is equally important to slow down, stop, and observe the world around us. If not, life will pass you by and before you know it’s over.

The Real Problem

Not only can our lives pass us by, but many blessings from the Lord can pass us by if we are distracted. I know I have asked the tough question of, “Is God even listening?” What I have found is not a lack of God hearing my requests, petitions, and pleas of help, but my lack of listening to God’s “still small voice” (1 Kings 19:11-13).

Too many times, I allow the busy-ness of life to keep me distracted from hearing from God. Other times, I’m too impatient. Living in the times of instant access, fast food, and high-speed internet, has made many of us impatient. When we pray a lot of us (me included) want instant responses or instant intervention from God. Not to say this won’t happen, but a lot of the times, we get so busy with life and impatient for God that we don’t allow the wind to pass by, the earthquakes to pass by, and the fire to pass by before we hear God’s “gentle whisper” (as we see with Elijah in 1 Kings 19:11-13).

The Solution

Slow down. Stop. Wait.

Psalm 37:7a “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him.” (NIV)

Psalm 40:1 “I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry.” (NIV)

We need to take David’s advice.

1)Be Still: Slow down and stop. Don’t allow the busy-ness of life to keep you distracted from hearing from the Lord.

2) Be patient. Have you ever heard the phrase, “Patience is a virtue?” What does that even mean. It basically means being able to wait for something without getting angry or upset. It also means not getting upset when something is delayed (Click here for more info).

We need to take a break from life sometimes. There will always be more bills. The job will be waiting in the morning. There will always be an overabundance of responsibilities. But don’t let life pass you by. And more importantly, don’t let God’s blessings pass you by.

Be still and Be Patient. Enjoy the short time you have on this earth!




I am currently working on a new project for this website. If you would like to be apart of the process please view my post titled Upcoming Project: Leap of Faith and sign up to get updates via the contact form.

About Aaron Coon

Christian, Writer, Speaker, Curious Observer. Married to my beautiful Stephanie & we attend @LifewayAZ. We love the Lord and want to serve Him and His people!

JOIN IN THE CONVERSATION:

To Receive Updates on my Upcoming Project Sign Up Here!

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

